We earn a commission for products purchased through some links in this article.

Hollyoaks beats Casualty and Coronation Street at Royal Television Society Awards

The soap has been praised for its "fresh, relevant narratives".

Hollyoaks has won the Soap and Continuing Drama award at the Royal Television Society Awards.

The Channel 4 soap beat the BBC's Casualty and ITV's Coronation Street for the prestigious award, after Casualty had won the prize for two years in a row.

The winners of the Royal Television Society Programme Awards 2022 were announced on Tuesday (March 29), with the Royal Television Society also taking to Twitter to confirm the news and congratulate the soap for its entertaining and thought-provoking storylines.

martine deveraux in hollyoaks
Lime Pictures

Related: Hollyoaks airs death cliffhanger as a body is found

"Praised by judges for 'constantly finding new story areas and fresh, relevant narratives', the @Hollyoaks team takes home the Soap and Continuing Drama award! #RTSAwards," the account shared.

Speaking after the win, Kéllé Bryan, who plays Martine Westwood on the soap, said: "We are absolutely over the moon!

"But what's so important is the episode [the award] was for, you know what Hollyoaks does so bravely and gallantly is we challenge social change. That's one thing the soap is brilliant at doing, they don't shy away from those subjects that are difficult to talk about, we just embrace it and do it.

"But we would never be able to make the show we do without our hair and make-up teams, our production, the directors, the writers, the staff behind the scenes that make this show work, like we're a small show but we're a family – and we just kick butt, so tonight just feels amazing."

This content is imported from Twitter. You may be able to find the same content in another format, or you may be able to find more information, at their web site.

Related: Hollyoaks trouble for Sienna Blake as Ethan turns against her

The nominations for the RTS Awards 2022 were announced earlier this month, with the BBC leading the way with 30 nominations across the 24 categories. Channel 4 also had 28 nominations, Sky had 10 and ITV had 8 nominations.

The winners were announced at the awards ceremony last night, where BBC's It's A Sin scooped up awards for Best Limited Series, Writer (Drama) to Russell T Davies and Best Actor to Callum Scott Howells who played Colin Morris-Jones on the show.

Sky Arts, ITV and BBC One also found themselves competing for The RTS Network of the Year award, with the judges ultimately opting for BBC One, saying: "[It] is impressive because of its sheer quality…it is quite simply, the best in class."

Find the complete list of winners here.

Hollyoaks now streams first on All 4, with new episodes dropping each weekday morning. The show airs Mondays to Fridays at 6.30pm on Channel 4, and at 7pm on E4.

Read more Hollyoaks spoilers on our dedicated homepage

This content is created and maintained by a third party, and imported onto this page to help users provide their email addresses. You may be able to find more information about this and similar content at piano.io
Advertisement - Continue Reading Below
More From Hollyoaks